top of page
  • Writer's pictureBecky

Distanced swimming

Updated: Aug 23, 2020

I am feeling amazing after my first swim at our nearby leisure club.  


After a few gentle lengths, my legs managed to do what they’re supposed to when doing the front crawl, and stopped drifting off to the right.  I was ‘engaging my core‘ but it seems to have disappeared since Lockdown, so will probably find it again at a later date.


The effort it takes to go swimming is far out weighed by the results it produces after just one session.  My feet feel like they are talking to my knees again!


Wilson the walking frame was my choice of mobility assistant this morning, and he came home full of water after accompanying me into the shower afterwards.  At least we were both thoroughly cleaned!


There were only a few people in there, a maximum of 20 being allowed in the pool at one time. We socially distanced in the swimming lanes; quickly learning the easiest way to avoid each other by ‘pulling in’ to the side, to allow the other to swim past. Doing a few pool squats and hops, while I was there.  


I love that in the water, I’m aware of the parts of my legs which are tingling or numb most of the time.  I guess, medically, the nerve endings that work, switch on the muscles that work, and then try so hard to get in touch with the others, that don’t work.  Even after one swim, I can feel the heel of my feet touch and engage with the floor.  My toes feel like they are actually attached to my feet, and not off in some little group, complaining about the lack of space. The soles of my feet felt flatter against the pavement, my posture is improved and my confidence is up.  I’m part of the world again, and feeling very dramatic and excited about the whole 2 hours ... I really do need to get out more.


A few little handy hints, things that I have found make swimming a slightly easier/safer experience;


I have lost my towel to the floor on many occasions, which can cause trip hazard. Take a velcro fastened waist towel, to wrap around yourself, leaving your hands free for balance. Sounds a little less than stylish and of course, the Velcro itself can be a challenge. However, if you’re up for a mini (slightly noisy) fine motor challenge, then try it out. 


Have a lightweight, cross body bag, big enough for everything, to avoid going back and forward to the locker.  I roll my stuff up and leave what I need first near the top. 


Use a bar of soap/ shampoo instead of a bottle. Soap on a rope even better!


Wear clothes that are easier for you to get on after drying, if you don’t want to spend 2 hours getting hot and flustered.  Alternatively, sit and dry off a little, put your clothes on over your damp stuff...and shower when you’re home.  I don’t think anyone ever notices!



All of these little things help create the illusion that I’m completely independent and self sufficient ... but seriously, do make a big difference. If I'm not worrying about these potential problems,the whole experience is far more positive.


I’m happy to recommend online shops that you can buy the above items from if needed. Alternatively, contact me for any advice or just to chat.


55 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page